Community People

Columbus Park Bench Program & Ribbon Cutting

The Friends of Christopher Columbus Park (FOCCP) is pleased to announce that on Saturday, October 5, 2019, the organization had its first official Bench Ribbon Cutting Ceremony to kick off their Bench and Tree Sponsorship Program.  William Abely and his family celebrated his mother Ann Tyrrell Abely by sponsoring a bench in her honor. The plaque on the bench reads “Celebrating Ann Tyrrell Abely who loved gazing at the water.”

Fifteen members of the Abely family and friends were present for the ceremony, along with City Councilor Lydia Edwards, FOCCP President Joanne Hayes-Rines, FOCCP Vice President Ann Babbitt, and co-chairs of the Tree and Bench Program Meghan Denenberg and MaryGaye Grizwin.

William Abely summed up the family’s sentiments, “This sponsorship is a very special way to honor my mother. Our family knows she would be delighted to see her plaque on this bench in Christopher Columbus Park. She often enjoyed the view from this spot with her granddaughters. We thank the Friends of Christopher Columbus Park for their long-standing efforts to maintain the beauty of this special place in Boston.”

Councilor Edwards commented on the broader impact of the ceremony. “This plaque in honor of Ann Abely is a profound demonstration of active community building. The leadership of FOCCP and the personal sponsorship of a bench by the Abely family are visible commitments to this Park that help ensure it will continue to be a place for others to enjoy in years to come.”

“It was a great honor to be a part of such a special moment in the Abely family’s life.  We truly appreciate their bench sponsorship,” said Meghan Denenberg.

Abely Family with Councilor Edwards.

Visit, email or call 781-639-6002 for information about how to celebrate a special person or event by sponsoring a bench or tree in Christopher Columbus Park.

The Friends of Christopher Columbus Park is a non-profit, all-volunteer organization comprised of  North End and Waterfront neighbors and business owners who work together to maintain and enhance the Park and to sponsor special events in the Park.

The current FOCCP officers are Joanne Hayes-Rines (President), Ann Babbitt
(Vice President), Alison Seavey (Treasurer) and Patricia Thiboutot (Clerk). Board members are Ford Cavallari, MaryGaye Grizwin, Susanne Lavoie, Rita Pagliuca, Robyn Reed and Patricia Sabbey.