Event Notices Kids & Families

Christopher Columbus Park Independence Day Celebration

The Friends of Christopher Columbus Park (FOCCP) is pleased to continue its tradition of celebrating Independence Day with a family-friendly free event on Saturday, July 1, from noon to 4:00 pm.

This free celebration will be kicked off with the fun “Kids Parade” led by Uncle Sam on stilts. Other entertainment throughout the day will include visits by Benjamin the Juggler, the Trolls from the upcoming movie, Station 8’s Fire Truck, the New England Aquarium’s touch tank, Magician Peter O’Malley and Jim the Bubble Guy! For more information go to www.foccp.org.

Ann Babbitt, chair of the event and FOCCP vice president said, “This is a particularly exciting event because it coincides with HarborFest’s activities that include Boston ARTS Festival during the afternoon and a special presentation of the movie, Yankee Doodle Dandy. We are proud and thankful to have the support of responsible and generous corporate sponsors for this event: NorthEndBoston.com, Sanibel Electrical Corporation, CL Waterfront Properties LLC, Joe’s American Bar & Grill, Marriott Long Wharf and Tia’s Restaurant. We also thank our members whose yearly contributions help fund this and many other events in the Park.”

The Friends of Christopher Columbus Park (FOCCP) is an all-volunteer non-profit organization comprised of North End and Waterfront residents and businesses whose purpose is to further the restoration, protection, preservation, care, enhancement, improvement, and maintenance of the Christopher Columbus Waterfront Park. The FOCCP works closely with the City of Boston Parks and Recreation Department to keep the Park clean and well maintained, and with other city and state organizations to improve the Park to enrich the lives of both residents and visitors to Boston.

The current FOCCP officers are Joanne Hayes-Rines (President), Anne Babbitt (Vice President), Ann DeLuca (Treasurer) and Patricia Thiboutot (Clerk).  Board members are Joe Bono, Ford Cavallari, Kelsey Griggs, Beverly Knight, Susanne Lavoie, Robyn Reed, and Patricia Sabbey.