NEWNC Election Announced – Saturday, May 15, 2010 10am-2pm

The 2010 election date for the North End/Waterfront Neighborhood Council (NEWNC) has been announced as May 15, 2010. President Stephen Passacantilli presented the details at the April 12th NEWNC meeting.

NEWNC Election
Saturday, May 15, 2010
10:00 am – 2:00 pm
Nazzaro Center, 30 N. Bennet St.

Nominations forms will be available starting Wednesday, April 14, at the Nazzaro Center front desk. Signatures from 25 residents in the North End/Waterfront are required to be included on the ballot.

The deadline to turn in completed nomination papers is May 6, 2010 at 5pm at the Nazzaro Center desk.

Candidates will have an opportunity to speak at the May 10, 2010 monthly NEWNC meeting.

There are six spots open for election out of the 12 council seats. Each term is for 2 years. Four incumbents have announced they are running for re-election: Anne Devlin Tagliaferro, Bill Lane, Marie Simboli and Ryan Kenny. Due to other obligations, including this website, I (Matt Conti) will not be running again. Lastly, an open seat exists due to the mid-year resignation of Daniel Petrigno.

The six NEWNC members entering the second year of their term include: Stephen Passacantilli, Luciana Burdi, Bob DeCristoforo, David Marx, Jorge Mendoza and Jon Sproul.

Election inquiries can be sent to

NEWNC website: