Ward 3 Democratic Caucus Elects 2014 Convention Delegates [Video]


Local Democrats kicked off the 2014 election season on Saturday morning at the “standing room only” Ward 3 Democratic Caucus held at the Nazzaro Community Center in Boston’s North End. Twenty-two delegates were elected to the 2014 Massachusetts Democratic Convention to be held June 13th and 14th in Worcester where candidates will be endorsed for state wide office. The 2014 Unity Slate garnered the vast majority of the votes to represent Ward 3 at the June 2014 convention.

Male Delegates: Matthew Bamonte, Salvatore Bartolo, Stephen Chan, Robert Dello Russo, Dino DiFronzo, Marc Hymovitz, Gennaro Moretti, Stephen Passacantilli, Daniel Toscano, Blake Webber, Brian Yun (Male alternate delegates: Chris Betke and Steven Siciliano)

Female Delegates: Tina Abate, Sydney Asbury, Kathryn Burton, Janine Coppola, Mary Ann D’Amato, Karen D’Amico, Berna DiNunzio, Kathy Carangelo, Rebecca Griffin, Lauren Nelson, Michele Tirella (Female alternate delegates: Maria Puopolo and Meghan Haggerty)

Massachusetts voters will be electing a new Governor in 2014 to succeed Deval Patrick. Voters will also select candidates for the positions of Lt. Governor, Treasurer, Secretary of State, Auditor and Attorney General. The Massachusetts gubernatorial primary election will be in September and the final election will take place on November 4, 2014. Declared Democratic candidates include Joseph Avellone, Donald Berwick, Martha Coakley, Juliette Kayyem and Steve Grossman. Republican candidates include Charlie Baker and Mark Fisher. Independent candidates are Evan Falchuk and Jeff McCormick.

Video Timeline Index:

  • 00:00 Welcome by Ward 3 Democratic Chair Jason Aluia
  • 01:20 Introduction of City Councilor At-Large Ayanna Pressley
  • 01:40 State Rep. Aaron Michlewitz speaks at the caucus
  • 04:30 Candidate for Governor, Joseph Avellone, executive at Parexel
  • 05:15 Treasurer and Candidate for Governor, Steve Grossman
  • 07:25 Suffolk District Attorney Dan Conley
  • 08:50 Suffolk County Sheriff Candidate
  • 09:55 Statements by representatives of candidates running for Statewide office
  • 13:00 Male Delegate Nominations
  • 16:00 Male Delegate Election Results
  • 17:00 Female Delegate Nominations
  • 20:00 Female Delegate Election Results